IPL 2019: Mumbai Indians beat Chennai Super Kings by 1 run in a thriller to lift fourth IPL title

ipl 2019, mumbai indians, chennai super kings, ms dhoni, rohit sharma, jasprit bumrah, hardik pandya, suresh raina, ravindra jadeja, krunal pandya, cricket,breakingclicks, breaking clicks

Hyderabad, May 12: Mumbai Indians held on to their nerves till the final ball and defeated Chennai Super Kings by a narrow marging of 1 run as they clinched their fourth title in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2019 here at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Sunday (May 12). With this win, Rohit Sharma’s boys won the match by a narrow margin of 1 run. They had also won the IPL 2017 final by 1 run when they defeated the Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run.

IPL Special Site Stats Mumbai have now won four out of the five finals they have been part of and CSK ended up on the losing side on three occasions (2013, 2015 and 2019). Chasing a sub-par total of 150 in the stipulated 20 overs, Chennai could only amass 148 after their bowlers restricted a quality Mumbai batting line-up to 149/8.

With 9 runs needed from the final over, Sri Lanka’s veteran pacer Lasith Malinga showed his experience and skills to defend the total. With two runs needed from the final delivery and 1 required for the Super Over, Malinga trapped Shardul Thakur in front as the Mumbai Indians broke into celebration. Shane Watson scored a brilliant 80 for Chennai Super Kings in the run chase but he was dismissed run out in the final over. Earlier, MS Dhoni was also run out for 2 and that changed the momentum of the game.

Leave a Response