Karnataka Assembly bypoll results

karnataka bypoll results, karnataka election results, karnataka elections, election, election news, election results, election results 2019, katnataka by election, katnataka by election result, katnataka by election results 2019, katnataka election, katnataka election result, karnataka bypoll, karnataka bypoll results, karnataka bypoll results 2019,breakingclicks,breaking clicks,

The ruling BJP on Monday retained its majority in the Karnataka Assembly after it bagged 12 out of 15 seats in the byelections. The Congress, which won 12 of these 15 seats in the 2018 Assembly polls, has won only two seats (Hunsur and Shivajinagar). One seat (Hosakote) was won by an Independent candidate.

With the BJP posting an emphatic victory, Prime Minister Narendra Modi in an election rally in Jharkhand said that the voters had punished the Congress for “manipulating the mandate” that people had given to the saffron party.

Meanwhile, after the party’s poor show in the polls, senior Congress leader and former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah resigned as the Congress Legislature Party leader. “I deem it necessary to step down as Leader of the CLP by taking moral responsibility”, he wrote in a letter to Congress president Sonia Gandhi. State Congress chief Dinesh Gundu Rao also tendered his resignation.

Elections were held on December 5 to the Yellapur, Ranebennur, Vijayanagara, Yeshwantpur, Mahalakshmi Layout, Chikkaballapura, KR Puram, Shivajinagar, KR Pete, Hunsur, Athani, Kagwad, Gokak, Hirekerur, and Hoskote seats. This was necessitated after 17 rebel MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) defected to the BJP in July and were disqualified by the Speaker.

Leave a Response